9/11…102…And Our Lives Were Never the Same

Hello My Friends,

The tenth anniversary of September 11th occurred this weekend.

It takes me back and it breaks my heart all at the same time.

I was in high school when the towers were hit. In SOCIAL STUDIES class, as ironic as that is.  And I was actually wearing red, white, and blue.  I had on a jean jacket, a red tank top, and khaki pants that were so bleached they may have just been called white.

I remember the screams. I remember the tears. I remember the vacant stares…and the constant thoughts of, “How can this be happening?”

A good friend of mine, we’ll just call her A, her father was killed in the North Tower collapse.

He was valiant, brave, angel of the FDNY.

I think of him always on this day.

Tonight, on September 11, 2011, I watched the documentary on the History Channel, 102 Minutes that Changed America.

Watch it.

Show it to your children, your loved ones, your students.

It’s amazingly done. It will break your heart, but, it needs to be seen.

I saw so many children today at the 9/11 memorial site in my hometown, and it just broke my heart. Some of them were there and they were the children of the men and women who died.  But there were also children who were born after this tragedy occurred, but they need to know what the men and women of this country are fighting for, what they left their homes for, and what they have died for.

I have so many friends of mine, childhood friends, who have since served in Iraq and Afghanistan due to 9/11.  They call us the 9/11 generation, and I’m so proud to know these men. They are the true inspirations.  I love you all. I’m proud of you all. I’m thankful for you all.

I think of my students on Monday, many who were only five or six when 9/11 happened. I feel as though it is my responsiblity, as an educator, to teach them what happened.

Teach your children, your students, your peers. Never forget.

I will never forget…

Live, Love, Learn,

The Write Teacher

Leave a Reply

