Sisterhood Everlasting

Hello Friends,

There are certain books that we come across in our lifetimes that can often become like old friends.  They can warm your heart, give you hope, give you comfort, and help you find strength when you least expect it.

I remember writing about the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series when I was in graduate school.  I was taking a class in Young Adult Literature, and every week our professor made us choose a different book.  It was an amazing class. I still look back on it and smile. One of the first books I chose to read was The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and I fell in love with the characters so much that I had to read the next three.

You can imagine my delight when I saw Sisterhood Everlasting on the bookshelves of the library.  It was like going to visit old friends! Crazy, but true.

I started the book yesterday, and I finished it two hours ago.  Yes, this was a twenty-four hour read for me.  I did not want to put it down. Do you necessarily have to have read all four books in order to understand this? No, not necessarily, but I would suggest it.  Or, at least see the movie.

Sisterhood Everlasting takes place ten years after Forever in Blue.  Carmen, Lena, Tibby, and Bridget are now on the brink of their thirtieth year. My how they’ve changed, but my how they’ve stayed the same.  Brashares will invite you into the lives of these four women, and oh how she will shock you! Every time you think you’ve figured out their endings, something else changes.

It’s a book that will stay with you long after you turn the last page.

It’s wonderful.

Go get it now.  Sisterhood Everlasting.

Live, Love, Learn,

The Write Teacher 

Leave a Reply

