A Write Teacher Review: Lone Wolf, by Jodi Picoult

Hello Friends,

I was a sophomore in high school when Jodi Picoult came to speak to my class.  It was career day, and they were having notable alumni come back to speak to the student body.  I had no idea who she was, to me, it was just another assembly.  I had never read any of her books, although I believe The Pact was somewhat popular at the time.  I will not divulge how many years have passed since I was a sophomore in high school, but I assure you, that assembly was several years ago.  Since then, I have read every single novel that Jodi Picoult has written.

Every. Single. One.

Jodi Picoult is by far one of my favorite authors. Over the years, I’ve learned to start reading one of her books when I do not have a pressing engagement the next day, because, once I start I literally cannot stop.  I am that person that will stay up until five in the morning reading, I need to know what happens in the story and cannot rest until I finish. I learn something new every single time I read one of her books.  I’ve taught her novels in the classes I teach, and I’ve actually seen students start to read MORE because of her work.

Her latest novel, Lone Wolf, did not disappoint, but then again, I would not expect anything less from the ever so brilliant Picoult.  Lone Wolf is told from the perspectives of Luke, Georgie, Edward, Cara, Joe, and Helen.  As always, Picoult weaves the pieces of her characters histories seamlessly. It’s truly a work of art.

Luke, a famous animal conservationist, and Georgie were once married, and they had two children, Edward and Cara.  After an argument with his father, Edward left home at the age of eighteen and never looked back.  That all changes with one simple phone call. Georgie calls Edward and says that he needs to come home, that his father and Cara were in a car accident, and his father is comatose in the ICU.  His chances of recovery are slim to none, and being that Georgie is Luke’s ex-wife, and Cara is not legally an adult, the decision of whether or not to end life support winds up at Edward’s feet.

This is a story that will speak to everyone, but especially the families that have been touched by divorce.  It makes us examine  uncomfortable questions:

If we can keep people who have no hope for recovery alive artificially, should they also be allowed to die artificially? Does the potential to save someone else’s life with a donated organ balance the act of hastening another’s death?

Lone Wolf forces its readers to take a step back and just THINK. What’s humane? What’s selfish? What’s right? What’s wrong?  Life is not black and white, and this book is definitely a shade of grey.

Get it now.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

