A Write Teacher FILM Review: The Iron Lady

Hello Friends!

I am in awe of Meryl Streep. I think if I ever met her in person, I would be so tounge tied, so star struck, that I would look like a bumbling fool  As a director, as a teacher, as an actress, she is one of my inspirations. I absolutely love everything she does, and The Iron Lady was no exception.

I’ve read many reviews that The Iron Lady was too long, too boring, and that there was not enough action.  Was it long? Yes. Was it BORING? I don’t think so. Was there action? Well, if you were expecting high speed chases and lots of shock value, then no, there wasn’t enough action.  But, this wasn’t that type of movie. It was an intimate look into the life of Margaret Thatcher.  It examined what happens when a leader is no longer a leader, but an elderly woman who is no longer heard.  It’s about growing old, it’s about finding one’s voice, one’s heart, one’s place in this world.  It’s about believing in what you do, about believing in yourself, no matter how many people stand in your way.

This film forces you to look outside your own personal bubble, and perhaps you will learn a thing or two along the way. I have every intention of showing this to my English, theater, and playwriting classes.  If I taught social studies, I’d use it there too!

If you want something said, ask a man. If you want something done, ask a woman.

Leave a Reply

