Meet our new project: The Anchal Bundle

Hello Friends!

Last month my classes adopted a love letter bundle from the ever so amazing organization, The World Needs More Love Letters. I’ve gushed and gushed about this organization, and I’m about to gush some more. I teach “at-risk” youth.  I teach tough kids.  When I told them that one of their projects this quarter was that they were going to have to write love letters to complete strangers…

…they looked at me like I had ten heads.

I should clarify that my male students were the ones who were so quick to be opposed to the idea.  God forbid they got mushy for a minute! The horror! My girls on the other hand, thought it was fantastic.  Any excuse for arts and crafts makes them happy.  ESPECIALLY if there are stickers involved.  Giving them stickers is like giving them a million dollars. It’s really rather amusing.

Anyway, I digress.

The boys, for as opposed as they were to the project initially, wrote the most beautiful, kind, touching words. All of my students exceeded my expectations by leaps and bounds.  Naturally that means that there’s only one thing left to do…

…START A NEW PROJECT.

My classes will be partaking in The Anchal Project, and there’s no reason why you shouldn’t join in on the letter writing fun.  It’s the best addiction you will ever have, that I promise.

Here’s all the information you need to know, which can also be found on The World Needs More Love Letters website.

Throughout the month of April, More Love Letters is collecting mail for the women of the Anchal Project. Anchal provides alternative careers in textiles to  women who make a living as commercial sex workers in India but are searching for a way out.

Today approximately eighteen commercial sex workers are employed part-time as Anchal artisans. They live and work in Ajmer, India and gather regularly to quilt together as a community. The love letters collected during April will be shared among these women.

Please mail all love letters to:

The Anchal Bundle

PO Box 2061

North Haven, CT 06473

Address the letters to “the women of Anchal”when writing.

Grab your pen, paper, markers, crayons, stationary, pencils….and GET WRITING PEOPLE.

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Meet our new project: The Anchal Bundle

  1. What a beautiful idea, I am thinking I am probably too late for this project which saddens me some. 😦

    analyticallyspoken.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

