A Write Teacher Feature: The Nobel Sauna…at HelloGiggles

Hello Beautiful People! 

It’s a wonderful day over here at The Write Teacher. The sun is shining, the beach water is inviting, and we’ve been featured on HelloGiggles.com! Yes, you read that right.  Our founder sent in a piece entitled, “The Nobel Sauna”, and it has been featured on HelloGiggles!

Awesomesauce. Just AWESOME.

We are elated.

The Nobel Sauna

I, among many things, am a teacher.  I teach English and theatre to “at–risk” high school students. When I say “at-risk”, I mean that they are at risk of dropping out of high school and this alternative program is basically their last resort in the hopes of getting a high school diploma.

I love what I do. Let me repeat, I love what I do.

BUT…

Some days are harder than others.  The week before spring break was just the week from HELL. I wanted to go home and cry, or have an adult beverage, and/or both.  What I did do, was go to the gym. Running always helps me relax, de-stress and just gain some clarification, some perspective.

I was in the sauna trying to just sweat out my aggravation, when two middle aged Indian women and I struck up a conversation. Actually, I sort of invited myself into their conversation when I laughed at something they said.  I wasn’t trying to eavesdrop, but mind you, this sauna is all of five feet wide.  It’s rather hard NOT to eavesdrop.  Anyway, I digress.  I laughed at something one of the women said, she was talking about how her son works in finance, and how he makes quite the salary.  I laughed and said, “Oh yes, they do.” She then asked me, “Are you in finance?” I said no, I’m a teacher.  Her response?

What a noble profession.

I wanted to hug that lady right then and there.  What a perfect antidote to my horrific day. Sometimes a person just needs to be appreciated.  Sometimes a person just needs to be acknowledged for all that they do. Not just teachers, but all people. A little thanks goes a long way. Again, I digress.  My new friends and I then went on to discuss education, on a global and personal level, as both of the women had children going off to college at the end of the year.  One woman had a son, and the other woman had a daughter and the mother of the daughter was already feeling the absence of her child, it was so beautiful.  She wanted to know if I had gone away for school, I said yes.  She wanted to know why, and I told her because my mother had wanted me to, since she had not gotten the experience of going away to school.

Check out the rest of our article here.

Image can be found on hellogiggles.com

Happy Saturday! 

Leave a Reply

