Emily Giffin

Hello Friends!

This week I had the pleasure of meeting Emily Giffin, at her book signing/talk in Bryant Park, NYC. It was AWESOME.  The literary junkies and bookworms of the world will understand my utter bliss when meeting such an amazing author-I was, without a doubt, star struck.

BUT…

The beautiful part about Emily Giffin is that she’s so humble! She’s so…NORMAL!  When I met her, it was HOT and sticky, a rather unpleasant Manhattan summer afternoon, and yet, this did not seem to faze her.  She was lovely, delightful, and just a pleasure to talk to, to listen to.  When I was waiting on-line to get my copy signed, I met some wonderful women who worked in Manhattan, a litigation lawyer and a OBGYN who was currently doing a fellowship.  So, there you had a teacher/director/actress, doctor, and lawyer, all having a very lovely conversation due to the release of Where We Belong. It was great! And there was a rather intense fan that was on-line with us all, an older gentleman, who seemed to be in his late 60s.  He bought ALL OF HER BOOKS, and stood in line to  have them all signed  He was, without a doubt, intense.  But, because of his age, it wasn’t really clear if he was insane or just…a passionate elder. At times he seemed rather alarming, and yet, Emily handled it with grace and class.

This a woman who has written books that have touched millions of people across the globe, her stories have kept us up at night, provided comfort when we needed it…they’ve been touchstones of hope, love, and inspiration.  I can say with certainty that they’ve gotten ME throughout hard times, and I know that there are others out there who feel the same way.

In the first line of her acknowledgments of Where We Belong she says:

First and foremost, I’d like to thank my loyal readers-from Atlanta to Rio to Warsaw and everywhere in between-for making my job both meaningful and fun,  Talking with you on Facebook, Twitter, and book tours gets me through every painful bout of writer’s block an reminds me why I continue to tell stories.  Thank you for reading them.

If that doesn’t say class, well, I don’t know what does.

Where We  Belong is one of our titles on our July Bookshelf, so I hope you all are reading it, and I, along with my other “write teachers” look forward to your thoughts!

 

 

One thought on “Emily Giffin

Leave a Reply

