A WRITE TEACHER FEATURE ON HUGSTRONGER: CALORIE COUNTING CHAOS

Hello Friends,

Check out our founders newest article, Calorie Counting Chaos, featured on HUGstronger!

Calorie Counting Chaos

I go to Starbucks to get my Skinny Vanilla Latte and start to obsess over the 160 calories. Black iced coffee it is!

I have no games on my iPhone, but rest assured, I have the My Fitness Pal app. For those of you who don’t know, this app counts your daily calorie intake for you. It can get rather intense. Every time you eat something, you are supposed to put the amount of calories into the daily journal. And, fear not, if you do not know how many calories are in whatever you are eating, My Fitness Pal finds it for you!

I go out to dinner with friends at Outback Steakhouse, and cringe when I see how many calories the burgers are, the margaritas are, the desserts are. Even the calorie counts of the salads give me heart palpitations.

I start to think about how many calories I’ve already consumed thus far, and while I try not to whip out my phone and look at my trusty Fitness Pal, there are times when I do. And then I have this internal conversation with myself; negotiating calories, it can be rather maddening.

I believe in eating healthy. Truthfully, I don’t feel like I’m depriving myself when I eat my veggies—I enjoy them.

My mother and grandmothers were making broccoli rabe before it was the trendy thing to do, and even as a child, I wasn’t scared of green foods. I grew up on a Mediterranean diet, eating mortadella before I ever knew what baloney was.

That being said, I have not been blessed with a metabolism where I can eat whatever I want and not gain a pound. Even as a child, if I had multiple cookies and plates of pasta, it was definitely reflected in my overall physique. I wasn’t overweight, but I wasn’t rail thin either.

I know I’m slender, but it’s not an accident. I run, I dance. I’ve developed an obsession with Bikram Yoga and an appreciation for exercise.

There really is something to be said for those endorphins! I am on top of the world when I finish a run, when I complete a yoga class, and when I end a dance performance. I am ready to face and conquer anything that is thrown at me – ready to do it all. The strength I find in these disciplines propels me my work as a writer, teacher, director, and performer.

Let’s go back to my dinner at Outback. Is it necessary to put calorie counts on the menu?

Check out the rest of our article here.

Leave a Reply

