Summer Author Interview Series: Lisa McMann

Hello Friends,
We love the novels of Lisa McMann. The Wake Trilogy is absolutely fantastic, and perfect for reluctant teenage readers.  Dead to You is just…awesome. Check out our exclusive Q&A with Lisa McMann below!
TWT:  Tell us more about the inspiration for the WAKE trilogy.
LM: I got the idea for the WAKE trilogy when dreaming that I was in my husband’s dream, watching what he was dreaming about.
TWT:  Do you own a dreamcatcher?
LM: I think I probably have one somewhere. 🙂

TWT:  Where did you get the inspiration for Dead to You?
LM: My agent forwarded me an article about a missing boy — he thought I’d find it interesting and inspiring. He was right!

TWT:  Out of all the characters that you’ve written, do you have a favorite?
LM: I love all my characters exactly the same! Not really. 🙂 I have a few favorites. Captain from the Wake Trilogy. Mr. Appleblossom from the Unwanteds series. Rowan from the upcoming VISIONS series (beginning in January with book 1, CRASH).

TWT:  Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?
LM: Yes. Don’t forget to read, listen, and watch. And then don’t forget to write. It takes a lot of practice to be good at it.

TWT:  Is there a particular time of day that you prefer to write?
LM: I’m best when writing in the morning. By about 4pm, I start losing steam (unless I’m at a critical, exciting part, and then I’ll keep going until I get through it).

TWT:  Should your novels be turned into movies, would you want to have a hand in the screenplay process?
LM: Sure! I’d like to try writing a screenplay sometime, but I’d be more interested in producing and having someone else write the screenplay.

TWT:  Who is your greatest teacher?
LM: My kids.

Leave a Reply

