A Write Teacher Review: Hemingway’s Girl, by Erika Robuck

Hello Beautiful People,

This Write Teacher Review comes directly from our founder, she just couldn’t help herself:

I. Loved. This. Book.

A lot.

Like, a whole lot.

I got goosebumps when I read this.  My heart raced. My eyes brimmed with tears. I went through every emotion possible. I went to sleep dreaming about Key West & Hemingway & Mariella & Gavin & the sea & hurricanes & Cuba & beaches & bars & boxing…oh goodness.

It was phenomenal.  I’ve started mentally writing the screenplay in my brain. (Erika, if you’d ever take a chance on a newbie, I’m yours!)

It’s no secret that I read a lot, after all, that is how The Write Teacher got started.  We wanted to create the framework for a conversation about love(s)…a love of reading. A love of writing. A love of theatre. A love of life.

But this book was more than just a “good book”.  I started looking up essays of Hemingway that I had not heard about until I read this book.  I wanted to know more about this man, a man who, despite his demons, was a writer than changed our country & our world.

To the folks like Pauline, (Hemingway’s second wife), who say that those who commit suicide are weak, well, shame on you.  How dare you box someones pain up so simply, so arrogantly; how can one be so insensitive?! What do you know about that sort of pain? And who are you to judge? May you never feel the depths of that despair.

Hemingway’s Girl takes place during Depression-era Key West.  Mariella Bennett is the eldest daughter of Hal Bennett, a local fisherman who died a couple of months before the story takes place.  Mariella’s mother is in what seems to be a permanent state of despair, and it is up to Mariella to put food on the table and keep a roof over their heads, as her mother’s grief is paralyzing.

And then, at a boxing match, Mariella captures the heart of two distinctly different men, Ernest Hemingway and Gavin Murray, a WWI veteran.

Mariella manages to land herself a job as a maid for the Hemingway family…

…and nothing is ever quite the same.

It’s a story of love and loss, and the inevitable growth that comes with experiencing the two. 

It’s phenomenal, but I believe I said that already.

You all need to go read it.

Happy Reading! 

 

Leave a Reply

