And that my friends, is a beautiful thing.

Hello Friends!

It’s always exciting when one gets mail.  Or at least, I’m always excited when I get mail. Not bills, not magazines, but mail.  Letters, cards, or, in this case, an invitation to a wedding.  Good friends of mine, actually, fellow write teachers, are getting MARRIED in July!

I’m thrilled.

THRILLED.

THRILLED for these beautiful, wonderful, amazing friends of mine.

No, this wedding is not a surprise to me.  Yes, I’ve known about it for a while, but, opening the invitation was a reminder of so many things. It reminded me of the things that matter, it reminded me of the happiness and love that everyone, everyone should experience, it made me think of the future. Maybe it was because it’s been a bit of a rough week, but the invitation made me smile.  It reminded me of how precious marriage is.  It reminded me of what true love looks like. It warmed my heart a little.

Oh heck, it warmed my heart a lot.

Just today I had a conversation with my students about their parents, love, and their futures. Family, parents, and love are popular topics of conversation, but can often be a sad topics of conversation. They often remark how their parents don’t care. How they wished they cared.  How they don’t care enough to get mad anymore when he or she does something wrong, they don’t yell, they don’t cry, they just don’t care.  Many of them feel as though their parents have just…given up.  Many of them don’t believe in love. Many of them don’t believe in marriage. Many of them don’t believe in anything.

It breaks my heart.

Many of them wonder why their parents had children, many of them say that they will do things differently when they have kids.

Why do I bring this up?

Because my students need to hear more about stories of love, faith, commitment, and loyalty.

Because my friends, my write teachers, my almost newlyweds, well, they are prime examples of such.  They will be magnificent parents when the time comes. Their love alone makes this world a better place.

And that my friends, is a beautiful thing.

20120426-020333.jpg

Leave a Reply

